Report Tag 10

Nefta, 09.11.2011

Hotel Caravan Serail, 18.00 clock, all teams except the start number 81 (Dittmann / Dittmann) have been checked. The timely achievement of the goal at the start of the dunes turned Wars scenes for all the participants were not a problem within the standard time in the Central Committee, with the exception of RZR (81). After cracked drive belt it was towed back to Douz, where the service crew was waiting with a new belt. So for Titus and Julius just a matter of time before they reach Nefta.

Fastest of the day were not the bikes but the Tatras with start number 501 – already the second victory!
The audit gave everything they had expected or feared the rally participants: sandy and rocky, some fast moving sections of slopes but also with many ditches and washouts. The Chott itself proved to be traveled to the passage in the far west to be absolutely dry. Also, the narrow tracks and then following the last dune before the finish was not much more challenging.

The rally is coming to an end. Even if it is too early to draw conclusions, the number of participants, although tired from basically quite happy. The same applies to the organization: No emergencies, no faults in the process, with the exception of the crossed-El Borma – testing everything according to plan! And even despite all the fears not be overstated, any negative sentiment in the population, no incidents, no roadblocks, no special controls, on the contrary: a totally relaxed and friendly as always, the host country.

Jörg Schumann

Comments are closed.

Report Tag 10

Nefta, 09.11.2011

Hotel Caravanserail, 18.00 Uhr, alle Teams mit Ausnahme der Startnummer 81 (Dittmann/Dittmann) haben eingecheckt. Das pünktliche Erreichen des Zieles an den Dünen der Start Wars Kulissen stellte für die Teilnehmer kein Problem dar. Alle waren innerhalb der Vorgabezeit in der ZK, mit Ausnahme des RZR (81). Nach gerissenem Antriebsriemen wurde es zurück nach Douz geschleppt, wo die Servicecrew bereits mit neuem Riemen wartete. Also auch für Titus und Julius nur eine Frage der Zeit, wann sie Nefta erreichen.

Schnellste des Tages waren nicht die Motorräder sondern der Tatra mit Startnummer 501 – bereits der zweite Etappensieg!
Die Prüfung bot alles, was die Rallyeteilnehmer erwartet oder befürchtet hatten: Sandige und steinige, zum Teil schnell zu fahrende Pisten aber auch Abschnitte mit vielen Gräben und Auswaschungen. Das Chott selbst erwies sich an der zu durchfahrenden Passage im äußersten Westen als absolut trocken. Auch die dann folgenden schmalen Pisten und die letzten Dünen vor dem Ziel waren keine große Herausforderung mehr.

Die Rallye neigt sich dem Ende entgegen. Auch wenn es zu früh ist, ein Fazit zu ziehen, ist das Teilnehmerfeld zwar müde ab im Wesentlichen recht zufrieden. Gleiches gilt für die Organisation: Keine Notfälle, keine Störungen im Ablauf, mit Ausnahme der gestrichenen El Borma – Prüfungen alles nach Plan! Und, auch das entgegen aller Befürchtungen nicht hoch genug zu bewerten, keinerlei negative Stimmung in der Bevölkerung, keine Zwischenfälle, keine Straßensperren, keine Sonderkontrollen, im Gegenteil: Ein völlig entspanntes und wie immer freundliches Gastgeberland.

Jörg Schumann

Comments are closed.